Judging for Best Research


Robin Street

Robin trained as a secondary history teacher in 2000 at Homerton College Cambridge under the tutelage of Christine Counsell, who remains to this day Robin's greatest inspiration as an educator. He taught for seven years at Dame Alice Owens school in Potters Bar, recently awarded the Sunday Times Secondary School of the year. There he helped to also develop their citizenship curriculum. In 2007 he became Assistant headteacher at Villiers High School in Southall which was at the time a leading light in the areas of learning to learn and student voice. He began to work at this time with the SSAT running training program for student voice and student lesson observers. He also worked closely with Amnesty International in the development of the their Human Rights Friendly School Award. At Villiers he became Deputy Head before taking on the post of Vice Principal of the UCL Academy in January 2012. Working with the founding Principal Geraldine Davies, Robin has helped lead the school through its development to become a well established and successful secondary Academy in Camden. The Academy's approach to curriculum development, assessment and education of the whole child are recognised as key strengths. The Academy's ethos is to be open and research engaged in all areas of its work. It is committed as an institution to support and explore best practices nationally and internationally. Robin is honoured to have been invited to part of the judging panel and looks forward to working with his colleague judges in recognising and celebrating excellence in the areas of e-Assessment.


Dr Stuart Kime

Director of Education at Evidence Based Education (EBE). Dr Stuart Kime is a qualified teacher and former school leader, researcher and DfE Policy Fellow. Stuart’s doctoral research (supervised by Prof. Rob Coe and Prof. Steve Higgins at Durham University) focused on improving student outcomes by evaluating teaching quality; he was awarded Durham University’s Prize for Outstanding Postgraduate Studies for this work. Creating meaningful connections between research, policy and practice is at the core of Stuart’s work. He and the EBE team train and advise thousands of teachers and school leaders annually in the use of research evidence and assessment processes; they also work with charities, universities and government departments. Stuart was the Collier Scholar at Durham University from 2011 to 2014, and a Policy Fellow at the DfE from 2014 – 2015. He is currently on the Editorial Board of the journal Impact, and holds a visiting position at the Eberhard Karls University, Tübingen in Germany, where he teaches the Research and Practice course.


Patrick Craven

Patrick has over 25 years’ experience in the field of accreditation, assessment design and educational technology. From the design of educational resources with MESU/NCET and BECTa to running of post-sales technology support departments with an Apple Computer reseller, his career has always addressed the fusion of education, skills development and assessment technologies. For the last 15 years this work has focused on the specific field of learning and assessment research and development linked to Government Policy and national accreditation programmes. This spanned work with the RSA Examinations Board, OCR Examinations, Cambridge Assessment Group and now he leads on Policy, Product Research/Design and Stakeholder Engagement for City & Guilds. This role considers the growing impact of Policy and new technologies on the learning and assessment industry. It also identifies initiatives to enable City & Guilds to develop and extend the range and quality of learning and assessment products and services they offer. Patrick is Vice Chair of the e-Assessment Association and also sits on the Board of the UK e-Assessment Advisory Group, Joint Council for Qualifications and is an advisory member of the Federation of Awarding Bodies Board. He sits on the planning committee for the European Association of Test Publishers Conference and is a member of the Society of Leadership Fellows.